Forum Replies Created

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 2,911 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • Hey!

    We will not participate this time but once the campaign is done and you are starting a new one let us know.
    Once I can check out the previous campaign and the response on the respective websites we might give it a try as well

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Unclosed Div in Entry Content #961847

    Hey!

    Although i was not able to reproduce any visual issues, we will change the HTML structure a little bit. There is actually no missing div, its just that the scope of the header element is too large. we will reduce it with the next update.

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Enfold 4.4 Google Map Issue #961563

    Hey Guys! Turns out this is only a translation error. Somehow the german translation file uses a few fuzzy strings with wrong translations. We will change that with the next update. functionality however should be fine.

    in reply to: DSGVO / GDPR #960781

    PS @roeschke:
    This is a maps default behaviour that we will not touch. You can now set your maps to lazy load, so they only get loaded when the user interacts with the map preview image.

    in reply to: DSGVO / GDPR #960779

    Hey John!

    The option is located in privacy & cookies in your enfold admin panel

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Enfold 4.4 Google Map Issue #960768

    Hey Guys!

    I am having a hard time reproducing the issue. If anyone could grant me access to your wordpress installation and ftp server I can try to fix it there and then apply the change to an earlier than expected version 4.4.1.

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    Hi Guys!

    The update was just approved by themeforest and can now be downloaded ;)

    Best Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Extended Lizenz #959081

    Hi!
    Zuerst mal vielen Dank fürs fleißige verwenden von Enfold! :)
    Zu deiner Frager: Das problem ist, dass wir zwar über das generelle item pricing entscheiden können, themeforest uns aber nicht die Möglichkeit bietet individuelle Rabatte zu gewähren. Da wir aber nur über Themeforest verkaufen dürfen, da wir eine Exklusiv Lizenz haben, ist es schwer bis unmöglich irgendwie individuelle discounts zu verteilen.

    Allerdings glaube ich auch nicht dass du wirklich eine extended Licence erwerben solltest. Ich nehme an du möchtest enfold für eine Vielzahl an Kunden verwenden die alle eine eigene wordpress installation mit enfold laufen haben? dann brauchst du für jeden Kunden eine eigene Lizenz. Standard ist da natürlich völlig ausreichend.

    Die Extended wäre nur dann zu verwenden wenn du oder einer dieser Kunden zB ein Blog netzwerk hostet und die kunden dieses Blog netzwerks Enfold als Theme verwenden können.

    Eine Multi-User license wie du sie vermutlich im Sinn hast gibt es bei Themeforest (derzeit) leider nicht…

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Enfold Changelog #957796

    removed this as a sticky thread since we got a permanent link in the sidebar now ;)

    in reply to: dsgvo – Share links #957790

    Hi!

    Yes they are compliant since these are only links to an external page that do not transmit any data. If a user clicks on one of those he ends up on another site which is no longer your problem ;)

    Cheers!
    Kriesi

    in reply to: EU-wide changes concerning the privacy policy #957458

    You got it ;)

    in reply to: EU-wide changes concerning the privacy policy #957454

    Hey!

    We will add several GDPR related features with the Update to version 4.4. However, disabling Cookies is not one of them. After attending several Workshops and consulting a lawyer as well there are 2 reasons for that:

    – Enfold cookies are no tracking cookies. they do not store any user data and are only used to set website behavior. (actually enfold does not really use cookies itself, apart from the breadcrumb navigation in conjunction with portfolio pages. we will disable setting this cookie is the breadcumb nav is disabled)
    – Disabling cookies is, from what we have been told, a feature that should be mentioned in your data security policy but since the web browser has the capabilities to disable them there is no need for websites to implement that feature individually.

    Please mind that this is what we have been told by people who are well versed in this subject, but its of course no legal advice. As you probably know a lot of the information that is out there is highly debated, and if it turns out that any of this is required we will change it.

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Mailchimp and GDPR #950117

    Hi!

    As far as I currently know, (information was provided by a lawyer) all we have to do is to provide the possibility to link to a “data information” page that describes what is done with the data submitted to mailchimp, since the widget already allows for double opt in. We will provide that possibility with the next big update to version 4.4.

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    Hey!

    The ip address is 85.13.149.161

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: 500 Error after enfold 4.3 update #947302

    Hi!
    The most common issue we got is that updates via FTP often merge folders. Since we changed the file structure this often results in duplicate files (becuase of a file merge, rather than an overwrite) when updated via ftp. to make sure this does not happen I would recommend to upload the new theme folder with a changed name (eg instead of enfold rename the theme folder to enfold-new) and once it is on the server swap names of the old and the new theme folder. this will prevent any file merging. Afterwards, if everything works you can delete the old theme folder

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Enfold en Borlabs Cache plugin #947293

    Hey!
    Yes thats possible. We need the folder name and the main plugin php file to add it to the check ;) (since we test with is_plugin_active() )

    Cheers!
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Request for official Gutenberg support statement #943629

    Hi Jason!

    Gutenberg will be one of the biggest releases for WordPress thats for sure. But the core team has still a lot of problems to overcome, problems that do not yet have a final solution. Until this is the case it’s hard for developers to make any detailed announcements, since we can’t be for certain what tools we will have to work with. Right now there are only about 1000 Gutenberg Beta testers, according to the core team, and it will last some time until this number increases. Until then we don’t really see the need to make any special announcements, since only informed users and developers even know about this right now :)

    As soon as a WP 5.0 Beta is released we probably will do. But I am willing to bet a good amount that this is not going to happen soon. I predict we have several months until a final release and at least a few until we get a core version that includes the Gutenberg plugin. However: once a Beta version is available we will be able to implement all changes we need to quickly. We got 2 new developers on board so it will probably take us a week or two to have a version for Enfold that works fine with Gutenberg. So what I am trying to say (basically): don’t worry we will take care of everything, no need for you to do anything else other than installing the latest Enfold version ;)

    But right now there is not a lot of new information, so what I said in other threads still holds true:

    We will make Enfold 100% compatible. You will have the option to either use Gutenberg (which will replace the default TinyMCE editor) or our Advanced Layout Builder. In the future, depending on how flexible Gutenberg becomes, we might even merry the two editors but thats probably far ahead when I look at the development speed of this new editor :)

    @wp Turned Up:
    We already are a lot more transparent than previously but there is a limit right now that we can’t cross because we don’t want to disappoint people with feature announcements or timelines that might be changed or pushed back. We already have increased the transparency by releasing a guesstimate for the next update in the sidebar, and by adding a “What’s next” section to each blog post that discusses the general direction of the theme. Once we have overcome the roadblocks that we currently face (more about that in the Blog post tomorrow) we might get more in detail, but right now thats as transparent as we can get ;)

    As for the pushback of 4.2.7: we just recently decided it would be easier to skip that altogether since 4.3 seems to be stable. Which means you will get a new major release at the end of the week, along with blog post and “What’s next” infos ;)

    Cheers!
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Frustration #924940

    Hi Guys!

    We are pretty much working on all of the things suggested here. More features, faster theme, better documentation, improved template builder, etc
    In our Github repository there are currently 10 Pull requests with new features waiting and we are adding more every week. We have changed our support system internally and are really a lot faster when it comes to responding to requests. When we previously had a queue that was usually around 200 open threads we are now usually at about 50, sometimes even less. We have started this progress about 2 months ago by hiring new team members and changing our internal hierarchy and are still improving our support and the theme. You should reap the benefits in the upcoming months when the new documentation is ready and the new team members are fully integrated.

    About the Mini Updates:

    Unfortunately, in order to improve Enfold the way we want a lot of the core structure has to change, and thats why we are holding back with feature updates. Those are also the reason why we are doing these smaller updates. I get why you feel you are real time beta testing, and to a certain degree this is true. The reason why we are doing those smaller updates, and don’t change everything in one big swoop, is that I don’t feel we can afford to break the theme in a way that affects tens of thousands of users. Unfortunately we also can’t test those changes on 1000 different servers ourselves upfront so we need to let the community test those changes in small doses. And I do agree that it must get frustrating if you are one of the few who are affected by those changes once or more, but I also have to tell you that in general the process has been a success for us, since the few issues that our customers encountered were solved fast, and the number of people affected was minimal.

    Anyways, I hear you and maybe we can implement a BETA testing feature if we need something similar in the future, where users can opt in to those updates. The only immediate solution for everyone affected several times is to skip those smaller patches and wait for the next big one.

    Now a little more detail why we are doing what we are doing:

    Our focus for a long time was to carefully pre-select the best possible options and elements for our users and implement them into the theme. Basically we wanted to only add what benefits the most users and let everything else should be added by plugins or custom code. Since the users base has grown a lot and we got much more niche use cases, we agree with most of our users, that we can no longer go that route. So we will add a lot more options and features, and also improve existing ones.
    In order to not slow down the theme to an unusable degree we want to make every feature and every element optional. And that is unfortunately really tricky and is the cause for those multiple smaller updates, since it involves CSS and JS file creation/compression on the fly.

    To make every option and every template builder element optional we are started splitting up CSS and JS files. This allows us to only load used elements and make sure only necessary JS and CSS is loaded in the front end. We also have added a compression script that bundles all those css and js files into one compressed and minifed version. Next step will be to add an optimization tab in the theme option that allows users to fine tune the optimization themselves. (eg: which level of compression, which files to compress, which elements to exclude, etc) This should also allow us to implement google AMP out of the box. It will also allow us to add any ALB elements that we like, even for niche use cases, since if a user does not need them they will simply not be loaded. Same with additional options: if an option generates a lot of extra CSS or JS we can simply split it up into a new file and it only gets loaded when necessary. That way the only thing we need to take care of is to not make the theme too complicated to use.

    As said before: it will take a little while before you can fully reap the rewards of those changes but Enfold will be a much better theme once they are done. More features, options and demos and at the same time faster and more lean and clean out of the box.

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Enfold 4.2.5 Update #919917

    Hey!

    Would you mind letting us know the specifics of one of those lower end servers so we can do a few test runs on a local installation?
    Also, does the theme not properly update at all, or does it update and files are broken/missing/etc?

    Thanks and best regards,
    Kriesi

    Small update: I found a workaround and already applied it to your server. the theme should work fine now, however, as long as the JS file can not be loaded the theme will fallback on not generating an improved version of those files, so you loose a little bit of optimisation.

    Hey!

    Just checked your Installation. The error is a result of the inability to access one of your javascript files that is generated by the theme.
    The file in question is: https://www.consul-tim.be/wp-content/uploads/dynamic_avia/avia-footer-scripts-51bd723933befe683d1d5abe554ef146.js?ver=4.9.4

    This happens, because with the last version we have added a small compression tool that fetches the javascript of multiple files, compresses the code and then merges the files into a new and smaller one. Since we started to do the same with css files and the files loads properly here:
    https://www.consul-tim.be/wp-content/uploads/dynamic_avia/avia-merged-styles-ed6ff75a04fadcd32b6ea93a8f40373b.css – I would guess that there is either a security plugin at work or a server setting in place that prevents javascript being loaded from your uploads folder.

    I double checked it an even if I create a new js and css file by hand the css file is accessible and the js is not:
    https://www.consul-tim.be/wp-content/uploads/dynamic_avia/test.css
    https://www.consul-tim.be/wp-content/uploads/dynamic_avia/test.js

    So since the account you created for us does not (yet) have access to the full administration panel, especially to plugins, I would recommend to disable any security plugins to check if that solves the issue. Of course this is only a temporary solution, but if this is indeed the source of the problem we know which plugin is causing the issue and will be able to test with a similar setup and try to find a workaround ;)

    Cheers!
    Kriesi

    in reply to: 4.2.2. Out and Video Bug is Improved But Still There #908724

    Hi everyone. Sorry but this one took longer.

    I was able to fix the issue on some level. “Only” did take me 10 hours to get to the bottom of this issue, which is actually two-fold :/

    The first problem (very technical): for some reason the API to the mediaelement video, which is usually passed as a javascript data object, is no longer passed in Safari. (might be a mediaelement bug, probably introduced with the latest WordPress update)

    I was able to circumvent that. It is now again possible to use the Video in Safari manually.

    The second issue is Safari itself and its new policy regarding autoplaying content. You can read more about it
    here: https://webkit.org/blog/7734/ (Purchase code hidden if logged out) -macos/

    Long story short: a user can change which kind of autoplay is allowed (with sound, without sound, no autoplay at all) but if it is disabled there is no chance that we can force the video to play without user interaction. So if autoplay is disabled by the user in safari there is nothing we can do about it.


    Kriesi

    Hey!

    Gutenberg will probably not work well with our current page builder so what we are going to do is: let people choose, what they want to use with an option in the backend (although the theme default for the foreseeable future will probably be to use tinymce and our page builder)

    If at any time in the future Gutenberg is advanced enough that we can port all our elements and the whole drag and drop system into it that will probably happen, but given the slow speed of development of this new editor I am not sure when.

    So what might happen during the transition period is that you have to choose between Gutenberg or our Layout editor when creating Pages and Posts, but in general its safe to say that we will do our best to keep enfold compatible with anything WordPress throws at us and that your website will be safe.

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Share links und Datenschutz #835294

    Hey!

    Die buttons die wir in Enfold verwenden sind keine “like” buttons die mit facebook (oder anderen netzwerken) kommunizieren, sondern share links. Diese share links enthalten, anders als die “like” und +1 buttons, kein Javascript und können daher keine daten an die sozialen Netzwerke senden bevor sie geklickt wurden. Sie sind daher aus Sicht des Datenschutzes unbedenklich ;)

    lg!
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Home page & Update Issues #812654

    Hi!

    Please send us your FTP details so we can try to manually install the theme on your server. If that does not work as well It is very likely that the server is configured in a way that causes the problem. In that case I will approve the refund

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Fatal Error After Update to 4.0.6 #794339

    Just a quick notice: The Update (v 4.0.7) is now available on Themeforest :)

    in reply to: Fatal Error After Update to 4.0.6 #794321

    Hey Alex!
    Actually PHP7 should work fine, even with the latest update. However it might also be the case that its a server setting that was commonly used on older servers and only on some new ones. If you are on PHP7 you are fine generally speaking. The theme update should help you anyways since we completely removed the code statement that is causing the problem.

    @koncium: if you post us your ftp details in a separate thread (marked as private reply) we will gladly update the theme for you.
    Basically you need to connect with an FTP tool and simply remove the old Enfold folder from your wp-content/themes folder. Then replace it with the latest versions. But if you don’t know how to use FTP we can do that for you, just open up a new thread ;)

    Regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Fatal Error After Update to 4.0.6 #794299

    Hey Guys!

    Thanks for the notice. This is an issue caused by very old PHP versions, so we unfortunately missed it. Sorry for that! The update (v 4.0.7) is already on its way to Themeforest and will be available within the next 15 Minutes or so. An alternate way to fix the problem is to update your servers PHP version. If you dont know how to do that please simply wait for the patch ;)

    Sorry for the inconvenience.
    Best regards!

    Kriesi

    in reply to: Spam getting through! #793986

    Hi,

    if you are receiving spam and think you have removed every instance of the contact forms please post us your login credentials as well so we can take a look at the backend. 

    From what I can tell by checking our code base there should be no option to send a mail if there is no contact form on the page but maybe we are missing something…

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

    in reply to: Problem viewing site on iPhone and iPad #792289

    Hey!

    The problem is actually the way you set up the site and images. I am afraid that with the way the theme works this is problematic, since scale image to show the full image and parallax does not play well together. I would do it with a fullslide element with a single image. I set up the about page to work that way so you get an idea of how you could accomplish it for other pages as well.

    Best regards,
    Kriesi

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 2,911 total)